Skip to content

Passion Is The Motor For Knowledge

September 18, 2008

Today, I have started a very important assignment for my speech class. I will research a topic, and create an informative speech about that topic. I chose to research Thomas Paine. Paine had an obscure and unorthodox upbringing and burst onto the political scene. I think he is one of the more obscure revolutionaries with whom I do not know as much about as I would like.

After I decided what I wanted to research I went to the library. I was in heaven there. I went to go look for books on Paine and wanted to get so many other books! I saw a bunch of Lockean theory, political theory, Thomas Hobbes, political thought etc. I didn’t even get into the founding fathers either. I think I know where I will be after I am finished this research project.

I ended up getting three books on Paine, A complete biography , another book of all his writings, and another book on his impact throughout American history, and I already have a book that covers him in my own collection.

I am such a nerd for getting excited over books, at least it is a good habit I guess. I think the more I read, the better. Just as long as I read for pleasure, once it turns boring or into ‘work’ all passion is lost. Luckily, I have a passion for something few do, and I guess that is what makes me different, that is what will push me to do great things.

In Liberty,

Jon Lauro

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

