Skip to content

Enough Negativity, I Feel Good

September 17, 2008

For the first few weeks here on campus, I felt like I was the only ‘Libertarian’ minded person. It was as if their were liberal Obama supporters who, for the most part, don’t even understand the principals of American Government, or the philosophy of big government, they just  see this slogan of ‘change’ and see that Bush has been pretty horrible so the other ‘side’ must be good.  On the other hand I would see only a few conservative McCain supports who somehow think that his horrible record of big-government, flip-flopping on tax cuts, and out of control spending is Republican.

In light of everything, I am finding more and more people who are rejecting both of these ideologies, and frankly, it makes me confident, and happy. I am seeing more and more people waking up to the left-right charade and realizing all of this is bigger than left right, it is an up, down issue. More government or less.

I think that the Republicans would drastically grow in support, from old and young if they went back to a Small government, pro-liberty, constitutional government platform. If they did this they would reign in all Republicans plus Constitutionalists, and Libertarians. I mean lets face it, those parties were originally part of the Republican party, but as the Republicans drifted into big-government, un-balanced budgets, out of control spending, and complete ignorance to liberty and the Constitution, many people began to distance themselves. I for one am one of them. If I was in the early 1900’s I would be a hardcore Republican. Frankly, I am a registered Republican but that was to only vote for Ron Paul. I would not align myself with the views of George W. Bush, or John McCain.

This brings up another dilemma I am having. After college, I want to get into the political process. I am not the neo-conservative of 2008, I would consider myself a true-Republican, but nowadays that means ‘Libertarianism’. No offense to the Libertarian party, but if I get involved in local politics, the Libertarian party is not involved heavily there. I would be able to defend my views under the Republican banner, though I will not be welcomed with open arms. I am stuck, stay Republican and get involved? or go Libertarian and risk not getting the credentials and experience I want (on the local level), to get my foot in the door so-to-speak. Something tells me principal is going to have to take precedent over my selfish needs to expand my horizons.

This is a good problem to have. Perhaps I will take the same route as Ron Paul, perhaps I will end up a loyal Libertarian party member, in the whole scheme of things it does not matter, I am going to be in the political process, being heard, under whatever party I may belong, the truth will be heard.

“In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act.” – George Orwell

In Liberty,

Jon Lauro

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

